Skip to main content

The content of this website has been moved to, the state administration's main website published on 1 July 2019.
For more recent information visit


About Slovenia

The Republic of Slovenia lies at the heart of Europe where the Alps and the Mediterranean meet the Pannonian plains and the mysterious karst. To the north is Austria, to the east Hungary , to the south Croatia, and to the west Italy. According to the last census, a little under two million people live here on just over twenty thousand square kilometers.
Slovenia became an independent state in 1991. It has since established an international position and reputation as a democratic, stable and successful Central European country. Today it is an important international player – a place where statesmen would meet, a member of international organisations, and a country enjoying friendly ties with other countries around the world.

Slovenia became a member of the EU on May 1, 2004.


Basic information on Slovenia

  • Official language: Slovene; also Hungarian and Italian in their respective ethnically mixed areas.
  • Currency: euro (EUR), since 1 January 2007
  • Capital city: Ljubljana
  • Government: Slovenia is a democratic republic founded on the principle of the separation of powers of the legislative, executive and judicial branches of authority.
  • Administrative division: 58 administrative units, 212 municipalities
  • President of the Republic: Borut Pahor
  • President of the National Assembly: Dejan Židan
  • Prime Minister: Marjan Šarec
  • Membership of international organisations: Slovenia has been a member of the European Union since 1 May 2004 and a member of NATO since 7 April 2004. It is also a member of many other international organisations.
    Religion: The majority of the population is Roman Catholic; Slovenia also has 40 other officially registered religious communities.
    Climate: Alpine, Pannonian, Mediterranean
  • Time: Central European Time (UTC + 1), Central European Summer Time (UTC + 2)
  • Average temperatures: July 21°C, January 0°C
  • Electricity supply: 230 V
  • Units of measurement: metric – metres, kilometres, grams, kilograms. Temperatures are expressed in degrees Celsius.
  • Length of borders: with Austria 330 km, with Italy 280 km, with Hungary 102 km and with Croatia 670 km; total 1,382 km
  • Length of coastline: 46.6 km
  • Highest peak: Triglav, 2,864 m
  • Geometric centre of Slovenia: Vače
  • Average height above sea level: 556.8 m
  • Universities: University of Ljubljana, University of Maribor, University of Primorska.